Editing Project Files

19 11 2014

I find myself in a common situation where I want to open all of the .csproj files in my source directory for editing. My editor of choice is Sublime Text and I’ve got a customized environment to help me locate all of my development tools via common paths (I think I wrote about that in another post, if not I’ll write about how I set up the environment in the next post). I could write a batch file to handle that via the Windows cmd, but I figured how hard could it be to write a small tool in C#.

It wasn’t hard at all and took about 20 minutes. For me it’s a win. So without further ado, here’s the main parts of the code.

public static void Main(string[] args)
{
 try
 {
  var files = GetProjectFiles();
  var files_path = GenerateExeArgs(files);
  var exe_path = GenerateExePath();
  Process.Start(exe_path, files_path);
 }
 catch (Exception e)
 {
  Console.WriteLine(e.Message);
 }
}
private static string[] GetProjectFiles()
{
 var root = Directory.GetCurrentDirectory();
 var files = Directory.GetFiles(root, "*.csproj", SearchOption.AllDirectories);
 if (files.Length == 0)
  throw new FileNotFoundException("No .csproj files found under current directory");
 return files;
}
private static string GenerateExeArgs(IList files)
{
 var files_path = "";
 for (var i = 0; i != files.Count; ++i)
 {
  var filename = files[i];
  files_path += " " + filename;
 }
 return files_path;
}
private static string GenerateExePath()
{
 var sublime_dir = Environment.GetEnvironmentVariable("sublime_dir");
 if (sublime_dir == null)
  throw new NullReferenceException("could not find the %sublime_dir% variable");
   var exe_path = Path.Combine(sublime_dir, "edit");
 return exe_path;
}

Alright. Not too much to comment on that. Note that I do have a sublime_dir environment variable already declared. And the use of Process.Start() to run the executable.

“I fell for you like a child, Oh, but the fire went wild.”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

