Event Horizon

2 12 2012

Not sure how anyone else is writing event raise methods but if they’re like me I’m sure at some point they mostly did:

private void RaiseHitDetected()
{
  if (HitDetected != null)
    HitDetected(this, new SomeArguments);
}

Rinse, repeat…
Well, after about five of these I got tired and wrote a little macro that did it for me. It wasn’t the right solution and I hate the Visual Studio’s macro system so back to the drawing board. Wasn’t long before I came up for air and remembered a little thing called extension methods! yay!

public static class Extensions
{
  public static void Raise(this object caller, EventHandler handler, EventArgs args)
  {
    Assert.IsNotNull(caller, "Unable to call raise on null object");
    if (handler != null)
      handler(caller, args);
  }
}

And then whenever my objects need to raise events;

public void TakeDamage()
{
  this.Raise(TookDamage, null);
}

For the flip-side of it I’ve also attached an extension method for the EventHandler class itself (which looks pretty similar so I won’t write it up) for those cases when we need static events (please don’t need static events…).

And… That’s all about it…

“The butterfly in reverse here is me”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

