TDDXNA

20 03 2011

Lots of letters…

As I’ve said before, using test driven development and unit tests on an established framework (XNA in this case) is fairly futile. I guess it can be done if I put my mind to it and lots of time to figure out how to mock every single aspect of the framework but I don’t think it’s worth it. In the end I have to trust that the framework does what it says it does and have my asserts, preconditions and postconditions act as the live tests for it; after all that’s what they’re there for.

Writting the sprite classes as data stores which describe the drawing/loading states of the actual images did prove to be the right course (so far anyway). It makes the code more natural to read and it allows me to apply these descriptions to multiple textures at once. The next module I’m going to throw myself at is the input and game commands, wonder how that’ll go?

Short post today, I’m sick and so is my little one…

“Lady Startdust sang his songs of darkness and dismay”

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

